Checking the version history for a text content page

What's inside this article:


Basic information

User groups: Read Only_2020, Contributor_2020, Journalist_2020, Editor_2020, Master Editor_2020
About user groups

This article explains how to check the version history for a text content page. The information is valid for the following types of text content pages:

  • Article, Blog, Factcheck, Feature, Feature story, News, Transcript

For every version, you can see when it was created, who created it, and which settings changed.



Open the History dialog

First, find the item on the Search list in Pangea CMS.

For information on how to use search in Pangea CMS, see the following article:

In the item box, click History to open the History dialog for that item. Depending on the number of buttons, you may need to click More () > History.

The following information is available for each version on the History dialog:

  • (A): List of changes: The settings that were changed. Click the down arrow to open the list.
  • (B): Date: The date and time when the version was created.
  • (C): Title: The title for this version.
  • (D): Action: The main action taken.
  • (E): Modified by: Who created this version.



Check actions

Under Action, you see the main action taken to create this version.

For a text content page, you may see the following actions:

Actions before publication

  • Copy or clone from existing item: The item is created as a copy of another item.
  • Create: The item is saved for the first time.
  • Save changes: Changes to the item are saved.
  • Publish: The item is published.
  • Create and publish: The item is saved for the first time and immediately published.

Actions after publication

  • Save changes without publishing: Changes to the item are saved. The item remains published, but now has unpublished changes.
  • Request approval for changes: Approval is requested for the changes.
  • Approve and publish changes: Changes to the item are approved and published.

Other actions

  • Update website teaser: The Website teaser settings for the item are updated. This action is triggered from the edit page for a widget.
  • Request audio narration: A new audio narration is generated. This occurs when someone ticks Audio narration and publishes the content for the first time, or updates one of the narrated text fields and republishes.
  • Remove audio narration: Audio narration is removed from the live page. This occurs when someone unticks Audio narration (after it was ticked) and publishes the change.
  • Unpublish: The item is unpublished.
  • Delete: The item is deleted.
  • Restore: The deleted item is restored.



Check the list of changes for each version

NOTE: This feature is not available for the Factcheck content type.

The following actions include a list of changes. This lets you see which settings were changed:

  • Save changes
  • Publish
  • Save changes without publishing
  • Approve and publish changes

To see the list of changes for a particular version, click the down arrow next to it.

The changed settings are listed in alphabetical order.



See previous versions of the content

For each previous version, you can see the following texts:

  • Content
  • Main title (General > Title)
  • Main introduction (General > Introduction)

To see the texts, hover over the version row and click the View changes button.

The edit page for the version opens in read-only mode. You can view the settings, but you cannot make updates. Move between versions using the Previous and Next buttons.

For each previous version, only changes to the content, main title, and main introduction are recorded. All other settings that you see on the edit page match the current version.

In the info box at the top of the page, you see the following details:

  • (A): Who created the version.
  • (B): When the version was created.
  • (C): Which texts are different compared to the current version. Only the texts listed above (Content, Title, and Introduction) may appear here.



Restore a previous version

NOTE: Users in the Read Only_2020 Rights in Pangea CMS are regulated through user groups. Each user belongs to a specific group. This defines which areas of Pangea CMS they can access and what actions they can perform. Learn more. can see previous versions but cannot restore them.

You can restore a previous version of an item. The restored version becomes the current version. Follow these steps:

  1. Open the History dialog for the item you want to manage.
  2. Hover over a version and click View changes.
  3. Use the Previous and Next buttons to move between versions.
  4. On the version you want to restore, click Restore.

The next steps vary, depending on the status of the item:


The status is Published

NOTE: Changes to published content need approval before publishing. Users in these Rights in Pangea CMS are regulated through user groups. Each user belongs to a specific group. This defines which areas of Pangea CMS they can access and what actions they can perform. Learn more. can self-approve changes:
Journalist_2020, Editor_2020, Master Editor_2020.
Users in the Contributor_2020 group can request approval, but cannot self-approve.

The following options may be available, depending on your user group:

  • Click Request approval to request approval for the change. The item is then marked with the Pending approval badge on the Search list, and the change is not published until a reviewer approves it.
  • Click Approve & publish to self-approve the change. The selected version then immediately replaces the current version on the public website.


The status is Draft or Edited

If the item is not published, you can restore the selected version without approval. To restore this version, click Save or Save & close.